AMEA recognizes 2024 scholarship winners

Published 8:15 pm Thursday, May 23, 2024

By Haley Mitchell Godwin

Three Crenshaw County scholars are among the 39 Alabama high school seniors awarded Alabama Municipal Electric Authority (AMEA) scholarships.

Crenshaw Christian Academy’s Abbigail Grace Vickery and Drake Von Mills, along with recent Luverne High School graduate Zyan Arion Peterson and Straughn High School’s Cora Elizabeth Wyrosdick, were selected to receive a $2,500 scholarship from AMEA. These students, from Luverne’s AMEA service area,  were recognized at the May 13 City of Luverne Town Council meeting by City Councilman Elliott Jones who serves on the AMEA Board of Directors.

Email newsletter signup

Jones emphasized the importance of the scholarship program as a way to support education initiatives that contribute to making the state economically competitive. 

“As we celebrate the achievements of these outstanding students, their hard work and dedication to their studies stand as a beacon of hope for our future,” Jones said. “These young scholars have demonstrated that perseverance and commitment can open many doors. However, it is their integrity, good character and strong moral compass that will truly guide them to lead successful and impactful lives as the future leaders of our society.”

Fred D. Clark, Jr., AMEA president and CEO shared similar sentiments and emphasized the board’s commitment to supporting both their local community and the global community through the provision of scholarships to high school seniors. 

“We take our role as a good corporate citizen seriously,” said Clark. “That’s why we, along with our Members, support education initiatives, like the AMEA Scholarship Program, that contribute to making our state economically competitive. We congratulate this year’s scholarship winners.” 

Since 1992, AMEA and its members have provided over $3.5 million in scholarships to the graduating high school seniors who receive their electric service from AMEA Members.

To be eligible for the AMEA scholarships, a student’s family must receive electric service from an AMEA Member city electric utility and the student must attend an Alabama college/university or vocational school.

The authority is a joint action agency formed in 1981, providing wholesale power for 11 public power utilities in Alabama, and serving approximately 350,000 customers in the cities of Alexander City, Dothan, Fairhope, Foley, LaFayette, Lanett, Luverne, Opelika, Piedmont, Sylacauga and Tuskegee.