Crenshaw voters elect new school board member

Published 4:01 pm Wednesday, March 6, 2024

Just over one fourth (25.57%) of Crenshaw County voters turned out of the March 5 Primary. Despite the low turnout, voters elected a new representative for the District 5 position on the school board.

Democrat LaFreda Griffin received almost 61% of votes cast to defeat Quanisha Jones and Jenice Foster for the Crenshaw County Board of Education position. Griffin received 204 (60.90%). Jones trailed behind with 102 votes (30.45%) and Foster received 29 (8.66%).

The hotly contested race for Representative of Congressional District 2 ended in runoffs. Republican and former state representative Dick Brewbaker gained nearly 40% of votes and will go up against Caroleene Dobson in the April 16 runoff for the GOP ballot. Democrat Shomari Figures, a former deputy chief of staff and counselor to Attorney General Merrick Garland, received 34.51% of the votes cast and will challenge Alabama House Minority Leader Anthony Daniels from Huntsville in the runoff election.

Email newsletter signup

Republican Sarah Stewart gained an overwhelming victory for Alabama’s Supreme Court Chief Justice and moved unchallenged to the November election. 

Republican Chad Hanson earned 56% of the votes for Judge of the Civil Appeals Court, Place 2. Rich Anderson prevailed in the race for Judge of the Criminal Appeals Judge, Place 2.

Republican Twinkle Cavanagh won with 61% of the votes to move unchallenged as the candidate for Public Service Commission President.

President Joe Biden and former President Donald Trump emerged victorious as winners in the Super Tuesday primaries and will move to the general election in November. The race was called with Biden gaining 40 out of 52 primary delegates and Trump winning 41 out of 50. Voters in Crenshaw County cast 544 votes (91.43%) for Biden in the Democratic Primary and 1.950 votes (92.64%) for Trump in the Republican race.

Voters failed to pass Statewide Amendment 1, 51-49%. If passed, the bill would have removed a step from the Legislature’s process for passing local bills which affect only one city or county.