Crenshaw County voters reelect incumbents on Tuesday

Published 4:30 pm Wednesday, November 9, 2022

Crenshaw County voters turned out to vote Tuesday in a steady stream which resulted in the reelection of several incumbents.

Republican incumbent Sheriff Terry Mears defeated independent challenger Ronnie White with 66% of the vote.

“I think Republicans are showing how they feel about not only this county, but this country,” Mears said.

Email newsletter signup

Mears, a 24-year U.S. Navy veteran, said he joined law enforcement after retirement.

“The good people of this county have supported me,” he said. “I rely on them to help us fight crime. Nobody knows this place better than the people who live here.”

White ran for Sheriff to bring support, training, and school safety to the department.

“My biggest fear [for the election] is that everyone will vote a straight Republican ticket and not vote for me as an Independent,” White said, as he awaited election results. “But if everybody chooses a better County and moving forward, they will vote for me.”

Republican incumbent Stallion Sasser gained an overwhelming victory over Democrat Darry Elliot, earning reelection to the Crenshaw County Commission, District 4.

Jon “Stae” Sanders ran unchallenged to gain the coroner’s office, replacing Ronnie Turner, who is retiring after 43 years.

“I was raised to help people,” Sanders said. “I enjoy helping folks, even in bad times.”

In the United States Representative, 2nd District race, Republican incumbent Barry Moore carried the county with 69% of the votes against challengers Democrat Phyllis Harvey-Hall and Libertarian Jonathan Realz.

Will Barfoot, the Republican incumbent for State Senate District 25 brought home an overwhelming win over Libertarian Loui Woolbright.

District Court Judge Thomas Sport ran unopposed, as did Chris Sells, State Representative for District 90, and Kellie Wise, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, Place 6.

In the statewide elections, voters elected to ratify the Constitution of 2022 and approved all statewide amendments.

Republican incumbent Governor Kay Ivey announced an early-evening victory, defeating her challengers Democrat Yolanda Flowers and Libertarian James Blake with 68% of the votes.

Will Ainsworth, the Republican incumbent for Lieutenant Governor, gained an overwhelming victory over Libertarian Ruth Page-Nelson, and Republican incumbent Attorney General Steve Marshall was reelected in a win over challenger Wendell Major.

Republican Katie Britt defeated Democrat Will Boyd and Libertarian John Sophocleus for the U.S. Senate seat to become the first woman in Alabama to be elected Senator.

For Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, Place 5, Republican Greg Cook won over Democrat Anita Kelly.

Alabamians elected Republican Wes Allen as Secretary of State, Republican Young Boozer as Treasurer, Republican Andrew Sorrell as Auditor, and Republican Chip Beeker as Public Service Commission, Place 2.

Re-elected incumbents include Rick Pate for Agriculture Commissioner and Republican Jeremy Oden for Public Service Commission, Place 1. 

“Congratulations to Governor Kay Ivey, Senator-elect Katie Britt and the rest of the Alabama Republicans that succeeded in keeping Alabama red this year,” said Republican National Committee Spokeswoman Savannah Viar. This ticket ensures strong leadership for the future of the Yellowhammer State. Alabamians won’t stand idly by and let the left’s radical agenda continue. Together, they will work to get this country back on track.”