Published 9:57 pm Wednesday, April 27, 2022

LBW Community College students Garyn Blair and Megan Mount were named 2022 All-Alabama Academic Team members and received statewide recognition for exceptional academic achievement, distinguished leadership, and community service during the 2022 All-Alabama Academic Team Recognition Program at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham – The Winfrey Hotel on Friday, April 22.

Megan Mount of Brantley was also selected for the New Century Workforce Pathway Scholarship which recognized the most outstanding workforce-bound student from each state. Mount received an additional $1,250 scholarship. The scholarship is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation and Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

Mount is enrolled in the Diagnostic Medical Sonography and is on track to complete the program as a registered sonographer in Spring 2023.

Email newsletter signup

“I plan on graduating out of this program and finding employment at a hospital or clinic, getting to do what I love every day,” she said.  “I believe that changing one person’s life at a time could essentially change the world, and that is what I plan to do.”

Mount serves as a campus Ambassador with many duties and responsibilities.

“I am forever thankful for the college and my ambassadorship for providing me with such a platform to connect with such students, faculty, and community members,” she said. “That is the part I love most about LBW.”

Garyn Blair of Opp will graduate LBW Community College with an associate degree in May. She plans to transfer to the University of Alabama and pursue a degree in elementary education.

Blair also serves as a campus Ambassador and as a member of Mu Alpha Theta.

“I love attending LBW,” she said. “I am confident that my experiences and opportunities at LBW will help me be successful in my future. (Meta-Calculator) ”

The All-Alabama Academic Team recognition program was founded in 1995 to complement the All-USA Academic Team Program that is sponsored by USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, and the American Association of Community Colleges.